MayDay surf celebrates mothers

  • By
  • | 4:00 a.m. May 11, 2015
  • Palm Coast Observer
  • Sports
  • Share

The waves were ripping, the sun was shining and the surf community celebrated family Saturday, May 9, at the fifth-annual MayDay Memorial Surf Classic in Flagler Beach.

The contest was created by local Flagler Beach pro surfer and former Miss Flagler County Haley Watson in memory of her mother, Dollie Sue Watson, who died unexpectedly from heart disease. Over the past five years, it has grown to close to 100 surfers and become a celebration of mothers, as well as an awareness event for heart disease, which is the number one cause of death in women.

Proceeds of over $2,000 will be donated to the Halifax Health Cardiology Center for research and to provide aid to heat disease patients. Halifax Health was also the presenting sponsor for the contest.

On the wave front, this year’s Men’s Pro division was the most stacked it has been in history of the contest, bringing in former ASP World Tour surfer Shea Lopez, former East Coast Champion Aaron Cormican, pros from Flagler Beach, St. Augustine, Jacksonville, New Smyrna Beach, and even a surfer from Aruba. In the end, Daniel Glenn, of New Smyrna Beach, won the Men’s Pro, which was sponsored by Finns Beachside Pub; and Flagler Beach surfer Hannah Blevins won the Women’s Pro, sponsored by Cocoa Soleil.

Also taking on the waves were the surf moms. Elana Carroll, Jennifer Blumenfeld, Amy Trammell Glenn, Monigue Sirois Futch, Patty King, Bronwyn Bryant, Carri Purdy, Carla Cline, Colleen Conklin and Carrie Wilson hit the waves for the exhibition-style heat, sponsored by the Funky Pelican.

“Throughout the year, they are taking their kids to the contests and really just putting everyone else before themselves,” Watson said about the surf moms. “This is just a really cool thing to do for them, especially on Mother’s Day weekend.”

Another unique aspect of the contest was the 150 hand-crafted surf board trophies made by Lance Carroll and Blaize Carroll, of Flagler Beach Surf Co., which were carved out of 100-year-old Florida pine.

“We really pour our heart and soul into everything we do,” Watson said.

Click here, for a photo gallery.

The winners are…
Women’s Pro
1.Hannah Blevins
2.Haley Watson
3.Isabella Perlutter

Men’s Pro
1.Daniel Glenn
2.Robbie McCormick
3.Tommy Grooms

1.Ryan Huckabee
2.Kai Delorenzo
3.Carl Burger

1.Robbie McCormick
2.Brayden Bryant
3.Ryan Huckabee

1.Hannha Blevins
2.Isabella Perkmotter
3.Kelsea McCormick

1.Dylan Martin
2.Jacob Kotch Powell
3.Blaize Carroll

Senior Men
1.Jimmy Blumenfeld
2.Anthony Passarelli
3.Jay Smith

1.Jay Smith

1.Hannah Blevins
2.Isabella Perlmotter
3.Amanda Boemi

Women’s Longboard
1.Jazmine Dean
2.Jillian Bontempo

Men’s Longboard
1.Saxon Wilson
2.Tyler Dean
3.Patrick Conklin

Open Bodyboard
1.Eli Kaminski
2.Dylan Toriello
3.Dylan Wanner



Related Articles