Nicastro wins second Surf Series

  • By
  • | 4:00 a.m. July 11, 2012
Braeden Kopec, 6, won third place in the micros push-in division.
Braeden Kopec, 6, won third place in the micros push-in division.
  • Palm Coast Observer
  • Sports
  • Share

New Smyrna Beach’s Josh Nicastro took home first place in the Men’s Pro division Sunday, July 8, at the second event in the Flagler Surf Series.

The event was the second in a series started by local pro bodyboarder Dan Worley, in an attempt to bring a less mainstream event back to Flagler Beach. In 2- to 3-foot waves and glassy conditions, the adults came out to play. One of those adults was Worley, who in addition to organizing the event was there to defended his title in the Bodyboard Pro. By showing just about every maneuver in his repertoire, he pulled out the win in the division for the second time in a row at the Surf Series.

Worley said the Saturday event had similar conditions. “The youth divisions were pumped up to get in the water,” he said. “The micro kids, super groms, boys, juniors, girls and women turned the south side low-tide waves into their own playground.”

But surfing was far from the only thing happening Saturday. The Breakthrough MMA Cornhole and Tug-of-War tournaments brought spectators, parents and competitors to join in the fun. The cornhole games had 12 teams battle it out on the beach, with Team Top Gun defending its title and taking back-to-back wins. In the tug-of-war, the Flagler Surf Club Team and The Flagler Boyz battled it out for the title. In a best-of-three set, Flagler Surf Club prevailed, leaving the Flagler Boyz with rope burn and deflated pride.

Event sponsors were Finn’s Beachside Pub, Safe Exit Timeshare Relief LLC, Honest Air Heating and Air Conditioning, Flagler Animal Hospital, Flagler Chiropractic, Por Vida Surf School, Sully’s Surf Shop, Re-Elect Colleen Conklin School Board District 3 and Breakthrough MMA.

The winners are:

Mens Pro
Josh Nicastro
Jimmy Blumenfeld
Rick Mellen
Jonathan Eden

Bodyboard Pro
Dan Worley
Damien Dinham
Billy Anderson
Donald Halloway

Open Men’s
Eric Worley
Jonathen Eden
Forrest Linder
Dylan Prestwood

Open Longboard
Mike Virginiak
Bubba Tyson
Patrick Conklin
Dylan Prestwood

Open Bodyboard
Jarred Gunnels
Travis Hawyer
Tim Dalzell
Buuba Tyson

Head Honchos

Jay Smith
Ron Wolfe
Darren Lisenby

Retro Circa ’70s
Devin Ricke
Billy Anderson
Dylan Prestwood
Patrick Conklin

Juniors Final
Dylan Martin
Dylan Prestwood
Jonathan Eden
Forrest Linder

Haley Watson
Sydney Herring
Taylor Eddy
Hannah Blevins

Hannah Blevins
Taylor Eddy
Eden Lange


Hunter Anderson
Ryan Conklin
Patrick Conklin
Isaiha Anderson

Super Groms
Evan Tyson
Sydney Corbit
Ryan Huckabee
Hannah Blevins

Tanner Corbit
Benji Lange
Braden Kopec
Riley Eddy



Latest News


Your free article limit has been reached this month.
Subscribe now for unlimited digital access to our award-winning local news.