With Tropical Storm Ian heading for Florida, DeSantis extends emergency declaration to all 67 counties

An earlier declaration had covered 24 counties in southern Florida.

Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis. File photo by Jonathan Simmons
Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis. File photo by Jonathan Simmons
  • Ormond Beach Observer
  • News
  • Share

Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis has declared a state of emergency for all 67 counties in the state as Tropical Storm Ian continues to veer toward Florida's west coast, where it's expected to make landfall as a Category 2 or 3 hurricane. 

A previous emergency declaration, made Sept. 23, had covered 24 counties in southern Florida, extending as far north on the east coast as Brevard County. 

"This storm has the potential to strengthen into a major hurricane, and we encourage all Floridians to make their preparations," DeSantis said in a news release issued on Sept. 23. "We are coordinating with all state and local government partners to track potential impacts of this storm."

Emergency declarations make local and state governments eligible for certain types of government funding available only during declared emergencies.

The governor has also placed Florida National Guard members on standby and requested a federal pre-landfall emergency declaration, according to the news release. 

The state's price-gouging hotline has been activated and can be reached at 1-866-966-7226.




Your free article limit has been reached this month.
Subscribe now for unlimited digital access to our award-winning local news.