Candidates who qualified to run in Flagler County

The deadline was noon, June 17 for County Commission, School Board and Palm Coast City Council.

  • By
  • | 12:00 p.m. June 17, 2022
File photo
File photo
  • Palm Coast Observer
  • News
  • Share

This story was updated on June 18.

The qualifying period to run for Flagler County Commission, School Board and Palm Coast City Council closed at noon June 17.

The following candidates will be on the ballots in Flagler County in the Aug. 23 primary election or the Nov. 8 general election.

According to the Palm Coast city charter, a council race with more than two candidates will have a primary. The District 4 race, which has only two candidates, will go to the general election.

The city charter differs from state law, which requires all nonpartisan elections to appear on the primary ballot, regardless of the number of candidates. The School Board District 1 and District 4 races will be decided in the primary because there are two candidates in those nonpartisan races.

The County Commission District 2 race has three candidates from the same party which means that race will be decided in a universal primary on Aug. 23. 


District 2

Denise Calderwood, Republican.

Greg Hansen, Republican.

Janet McDonald, Republican.

District 4

Jane Gentile-Youd, No Party Affiliation.

Joe Mullins, Republican.

Leann Pennington, Republican.


District 1

Sally Hunt

Jill Woolbright

District 2

Lance Alred

Will Furry

Courtney VandeBunte

District 4

Christy Chong

Trevor Tucker


District 2

Theresa Carli Pontieri

Sims E Jones

Shauna C. Kanter

Alan Shepard Lowe

District 4

Cathy D Heighter

Fernando Melendez








Related Articles

  • August 26, 2014

Special Offer: $5 for 2 Months!

Your free article limit has been reached this month.
Subscribe now for unlimited digital access to our award-winning local news.