Flagler Kiwanis Club recognizes education

  • By
  • | 4:00 a.m. May 19, 2012
The Flagler/Palm Coast Kiwanis Club awarded scholarships to 12 seniors this year.
The Flagler/Palm Coast Kiwanis Club awarded scholarships to 12 seniors this year.
  • Palm Coast Observer
  • News
  • Share

The Flagler/Palm Coast Kiwanis Club honored teachers of the year and scholarship recipients Wednesday, May 16, at its ninth-annual Education Recognition Luncheon, held at Hilton Garden Inn.

This year, the club presented scholarships in six categories with a total value of $26,000.

The scholarship winner were Matanzas High School Senior of the Year, Thomas Tarantola; Flagler Palm Coast High School Senior of the Year, Boyd Fulmer; Key Club Scholarship, Amber Finnicum-Simmons and Emily Harezlak; Kiwanis Club Scholarship, Jennifer Cheung, Julianne Tyrone and Christina Caputo; Robert Osner Kiwanis Scholarship, Andrew Wise and Diego Ventura-Castro; Kiwanis Foundation Book Scholarship, Boyd Fulmer, Gillroy Benet and Savanna Carnevale; and the Kiwanis Foundation Scholarship Jasmine Perez.

Teachers of the year from each school were also recognized. The 2012 teachers of the year are as follows: Bunnell Elementary, Tara Millette; Belle Terre Elementary, Rosemarie Alfano; Buddy Taylor Middle, Michelle Coolican; Flagler Technical Institute, David Nelson; Indian Trails Middle, Suzanne Haibon; Matanzas High, Christine Brink; Old Kings Elementary, Teresa Shipp; Pathways Academy, Michael Snider; Rymfire Elementary, Jennifer Colindres; Wadsworth Elementary, Valeria Sanson; and Flagler Palm Coast High and the 2012 District Teacher of the Year, Sarah Poppe.



Latest News


Your free article limit has been reached this month.
Subscribe now for unlimited digital access to our award-winning local news.